Audible.com

So a few days ago I signed up for Audible.com. It’s an audiobook club. I have to walk the dog twice a day for 20 minutes (since his surgery), I drive 25 minutes to and from school everyday, and just generally spend time where my mind could be otherwise occupied. My friend Wanda has been listening to audiobooks for years so I thought I’d give it a go.
It’s brilliant!! Audible.com has an app on iTunes so I can listen directly from my iPhone. No fooling around downloading through iTunes. I bought “The Columbus Affair” by Steve Berry. Figured I should start with something I am familiar with. Yes I have read every Steve Berry book and loved them all ( except the Emperor’s Tomb…. Really bad book). I just walked the dog and listened to another twenty minutes of the book. Didn’t want to turn it off but I’ll listen again later when I go bask in the sun to try to turn my pathetically white body into something that looks half human.
I’m about 1/4 way through the book in a few days and haven’t exerted any effort or sacrificed other things to do it. It’s like free reading!! What a concept. I am totally amused at the voice in the book. He has a slight slight slight British accent but some of the character are Spanish and Jamaican ( its the Columbus affair remember). So he jumps from one accent to another. Takes a minute to get used to that but I got it now. Makes me smile. 🙂
Anyway just thought I’d share my new thing with you. Give it a try you might just like it. I did!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Audible.com

  1. HeatherG

    I’m going to check out audible.com ASAP, thanks Lori! Love the Nora Ephron quote too. You asked where we get our audiobooks. For me, it’s elibrary at NLPL (Nfld. Public Libraries). You’re not surprised are you!? They’re free and can be renewed till you’re finished! I agree, great when walking the dog or in the car. I am currently working my way through Jean Auel’s Earth’s Children series… Looking forward to your next post! :-).

    • Hi Lori,

      I’ve enjoyed reading your blog, so thanks for the Facebook link. I’ve tried a few audiobooks, and I find that I enjoy non-fiction much better. I just can’t follow the story as clearly when I’m not reading the words. I lose some of the connection between my listening sessions. I do enjoy a biography or documentary style audiobook though.

      If you get a chance, check out my blog too. Link already provided.

  2. I gonna, to try it thank you very much

  3. Hi to all, the contents present at this web site are genuinely
    remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the good work fellows.

Leave a Reply

