The cupcakes made my hungry….

So those cupcakes made me hungry. And if Twilight gets a cupcake then, surely, Hunger Games should have one. But unfortunately, I think the cupcake would be a bit stale…. While the book had many redeeming features it is not my favorite.

I’m not a fan of fantasy but have been meaning to read this book since it came out. Sometimes I just like to read things to see what all the hype is about. Not necessarily a good way to pick a book but sometimes as good as any other method. (Don’t bother with Fifty Shades of Grey but we’ll leave that review for another time.) I promised my good friend Kellie that I would definitely read this book this summer. I have kept my word but she may not like my words about the book.

So here is a synopsis for those who haven’t read it. In a dystopian future, the totalitarian nation of Panem is divided between 12 districts and the Capitol. Each year two young representatives from each district are selected by lottery to participate in The Hunger Games, a fight to the death. Part entertainment, part brutal retribution for a past rebellion, the televised games are broadcast throughout Panem. The 24 participants are forced to eliminate their competitors while the citizens of Panem are required to watch. When 16-year-old Katniss’s young sister, Prim, is selected as District 12’s female representative, Katniss volunteers to take her place. She and her male counterpart Peeta, are pitted against bigger, stronger representatives who have trained for this their whole lives. (synopsis written by Suzanne Collins)

I think the book is well written, clean language, well edited, creative, imaginative, age appropriate (its a YA novel), original, but still not my cup of tea. I just can’t get into the futuristic dystopian genre. I find it hard to relate to it (obviously). I get more out of a book when I have something to bring to it. I didn’t have much to bring to all the fighting, violence, hardship, and the strange morphing of characters at the end of the book. All a little foreign to me.

So after that bum wrap, here’s what I do like about the book:
* I like the homage to Shakespeare at the end of the book. I think the Romeo and Juliet type plot twist was quite creative if not a little corny.
* I like the fact that the main character, Katniss, outsmarted most of the other ‘contestants’ in this fight to the death by using her brain and not her brawn.
* I like that she used old fashioned archery (physics and geometry at this best) to survive.
* I like that the hero is a girl. Yeah girlpower!!! I like that she retained her femininity thought the book while still being portrayed as an extremely strong character.

So did I like the book? Not really. Did I appreciate the book for what it is? Yes. Will I read books two and three of the trilogy? No. Would I recommend it? To the right reader, yes.

20120804-012602.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under YA literature

Leave a Reply

